The Punk Syndrome

The Punk Syndrome is a film about Finland's hottest punk band, Pertti Kirikan Nimipäiat.

Watch the trailer and the full film here:

film poster

All four band members are disabled and they deliver their music with maximum attitude and pride.

The film follows the band members Pertti, Kari, Toni and Sami on a journey out of the dark and into the spotlight, where hard work is mixed with joy, discussins and love. On stage, however, it is only pride and attitude that applies.

"A work of rigorous and inspired filmmaking" - The jury of international competition for feature lenghts films, Visions du Reel Festival 2012. 

"Nobody patronises them or laughs behind their backs, and they rightly take their art seriously" - Philip French, The Guardian.

Auto Images is the Swedish co-producer of The Punk Syndrome.


The Punk Syndrome is available with Swedish subtitles here:


Directed by: Jukka Kärkkäinen & J-P Passi
Director of photography: J-P Passi 
 Riitta Poikselkä
Music by: PKN
Sound design: Jørgen Bergsund
Sound mix: Tormod Ringnes
Sound recording: Antti Haikonen
Producer: Sami Jahnukainen/Mouka Film.
Co-producers: Carsten Aanonsen/Indie Film, Norway. Lennart Ström & Magnus Gertten/Auto Images, Joakim Strand/Film i Skåne, Sweden.
Production country: Finland 2012 
Duration: 85 min 

Distributed on DVD and DCP.
Distributed in Sweden by Auto Images